18
Sep
09

Web hosting: You get what you pay for!

Well, it’s renewal season around the ranch, and I had the most interesting experience with GoDaddy.

I renewed my domain name (afterexposure.com) with them; the price was right, and I had no prior complaints about their dns or registration process.

After I paid, I noticed I had a ‘web hosting credit’. Huh. Neat, I guess I could use it to pay for the web hosting with them, which was also up for renewal.

So I selected my domain, and applied the credit. It said something about taking a few minutes to show up in the control panel, so off to bed I went; visions of two more years of cheap web hosting dancing in my head.

The next day I was sad to see that the hosting credit wasn’t applied to my site, but had created a new, blank site. Ugh.

So I email customer support… no dice. The reason: hosting credits can’t be used on a renewal of a web hosting package…. WTF? That has to be one of the stupidest things I’ve ever heard.

But lucky me, I have another hosting company for a different domain in the .ca TLD, so I emailed them:

“Hey, can you split off part of my hosting package for a second domain?”

Their answer:

“Sure, just send us the domain name and we’ll set it up. Free.”

W-O-W!

So I did, and they did. Within the hour they had sent me the new DNS entries, and shortly after that I had instructed GoDaddy to use these new entries… and -POOF-, I was in business on the new site.

They have a self administration page, so re-creating my email address was a snap. And I ftp’d a holding page to test it out; it’s all there.

The name of this wonderful hosting company?

namespro.ca

I pay a little more than I did at GoDaddy, but not by much, and I get full control; not like the template-based ‘WebSite Tonight’ crappus (that’s latin for ‘crap’, FYI) that I was using.

Now I just need to nail down a decent web site editor…

0 Responses to “Web hosting: You get what you pay for!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Afterexposure has moved!

Click here for the new page!

Tweets


