18
Aug
09

Baby Steps

If you’ve strung together some of the posts here, or from my twitter ‘tweets’, you’ll know I’m working through the planning, opening, and marketing steps of my photography business. It’s a fun process; certainly challenging, sometimes confusing, and potentially overwhelming.

To cope with that I’m treating like any project I do (I’m a project manager in ‘real life’) which means it has the usual boundaries; a scope, a schedule, and a budget. In plain english this means I have a deadline to do things – and I plan to run out of things before I run out of money.

I’ve often said that to avoid the paralysis of planning a project, you should ‘just start’. I usually start with the most basic of plans – a skeleton plan – and I flesh it out as I go. If I’m having a good week I take some time, usually Friday mornings, and look at where I am, and what’s next. If I don’t think that there is enough detail, or if any individual step takes longer than an hour to do, I usually break it up into smaller steps. This lets me work on it as I have time – which is almost never in 8 hour chunks.

I’m starting this with only three BIG steps, so it doesn’t get much simpler. At the end of each step is a simple question: “Should I keep going?”. This lets me pause at the end of any step, limiting my investments of time, money, and commitments if the answer is “No.”, and figure out if I can make it a “Yes!”. Here they are:

  1. Preparing the Business Plan
  2. Preparing for Business
  3. Marketing the Business

How far have I gone with my efforts so far? Well, farther than I’ve written about in the past, but not as far as I’d like; I’m still not 100% done with the first step, and I’m about halfway through the second step, at a point where I need a complete business plan before I invest any cash. Of course the third step is where all the fun is, so I’ve dabbled in it, but committed very little.

At the end of the last step I should have a calendar full of paid work before me, a plan for the next couple of years, and pretty big grin from being so darn successful. I think it’s pretty important to be able to visualize yourself in the future, too. It may be a silly mind trick, but it works for me. Every time I repeatedly visualize some future, I somehow get there. (I’m still waiting on the hover-car, though…).

Next time I’ll put some meat on these bones, and describe each step a bit more.

0 Responses to “Baby Steps”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

