10
Jun
09

GTD and Success Calendars, Redux

A few posts ago I mentioned that combining GTD (from David Allen) and Success Calendars (from Wayne Cotton) was a good combination, and I’d like to offer up a real world example.

Recently I caught a tweet on ‘189 business building ideas for photographers‘. I thought it was actually applicable (with some loose interpretation) to anyone, in any industry, so I re-tweeted it and moved on, intending to come back later and add the ‘best’ items to my own GTD system. My own ‘Start a photography business’ GTD list had about a dozen items in it; and I hadn’t yet sat down and thought of my Next Actions yet; this list was a read-made pool of items similar to those I had thought of, but never captured to my Inbox.
So at lunch I sat down and stuffed each of the 189 items into a generic category; Marketing, Business, Habits, Networking, Learning, Writing, and so on, so I could choose to put a rough order on things; no sense in shouting from the tops of the hills when my own website is so half-done.
The next thing I did was interpret each one; was it focused on Customers, Peers, or me? And where could I do these items… @online, or just @anywhere? I was searching to ‘bucket’ the items a bit better, after all it’s easier to eat an elephant one bite at a time…
Using the different combinations of groups it was then pretty easy to assign each one a color from the ‘Success Calendars’. I stuck to the Red (administrative), Blue (planning), Green (revenue generating), and Yellow (downtime) groups.
Where did this get me? I can assign Next Actions and group them, for a start. I can do the planning steps (Blue) before the execution steps (Red), which is important to me. And it even reinforces the Yellow and Green items I knew I should be doing.
The location context gives me an idea of what I should be doing depending on where I am, and the colors further focus me depending on ‘when’ I am – in other words, if it’s a Red day, I should be doing Red things.
But for now, I know I have 27 Blue items that need my attention.
Not 189 items in random order.
Life is good.
2 Responses to “GTD and Success Calendars, Redux”


  1. 1 dannielo
    June 10, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    For implementing GTD you can use this web-based application:

    http://www.Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version is available too.

  2. 2 noser
    June 14, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Looks interesting. I've always had to augment my online GTD system (Remember the Milk) with spreadsheets to track the longer terms goals that GTD feeds into.


Leave a Reply

